A new year post

I am a bit of an ‘anti-NYE-hype’ person. I find everybody setting out to have ‘the night of the year’, which can only be achieved through getting wiped out, as rather ridiculous. Back in school I decided that when you really have fun is when you least expect it. I was feeling very low in year seven and in maths we had to do this little graphing exercise where we were supposed to plot how much fun we were having every hour of the day. When we looked at the results in class I was not the only person who had done the graph, but I was the only person who claimed to have actually set my watch alarm and charted how much fun I was having each hour. Actually taking a moment to consider how I was feeling at points in the day provided an opportunity to realise how much fun I was having during the school day. When I finished school I was old enough to take on whatever volunteer projects I felt inclined to partake in, and the fun I had working in various volunteer roles made me wonder why people seem to enjoy so little of their lives.

The other part of NYE that I find difficult is the idea of new year resolutions, new starts and the pressure to ‘set up the year right’. When I moved from Brisbane to Melbourne at the end of 1992 I thought I would get a ‘new start’. My friendships at school had been a bit complicated and while I was sad to be leaving people, bare foot summers and our back yard swimming pool behind I thought it would be great to start a new friendships that could be perfect. It did not take me long at my new school to work out that there is no such thing as a perfect new start and that we always have to build on where we start from. I guess it is this strong conviction that we always start from somewhere that leads to my natural affinity for working from a ‘strengths perspective’ when it comes to direct client work or even in conversations with friends.

To finish this post I will leave you with one of my favourite quotes. I came across this when reading The Dispossessed in early high school and every few years I find myself searching again for it on the internet.

If you see a whole thing – it seems that it’s always beautiful. Planets, lives… But up close a world’s all dirt and rocks. And day to day, life’s a hard job, you get tired, you lose the pattern.
Ursula K. Le Guin”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

