Suburbs and Class

I have been reading a little bit about prejudice and cross class interactions. I am interested in the claims that the ‘poor’ are spatialised in a way that others are not. Clearly this bears some relation to my interested in place based policy.

Anyway, I just wanted to throw out there a small question.

Are ‘class’ and ‘suburb’ opposites when it comes to my project?

Naming your suburb is not all that unusual. Naming your class is pretty much unheard of, even socio-economic status is something that belongs to others/ groups. Suburbs are an administrative tool. Boundaries between suburbs might change or be drawn differently for different purposes, but ultimately it is a ‘thing’ regardless of what else it is called on to signify or how it is used to meet the needs of capital. Using administrative bodies definitions of and uses of suburbs makes sense because people have to deal with these definitions in their day to day lives. Class, at least in the way I have been throwing it around, is much more difficult to discuss.

I suppose if I want to put ideas about ‘class’ and ‘suburbs’ into a single sentence or question I need to untangle what it is that I am really interested in when it comes to ‘class’. Perhaps it will make more sense to look at the notion of ‘socio-economic status’? Or should I be using something like socio-educational, as this is what the Australian government uses for things such as comparing schools?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

