Does Today Tonight want to do away with capitalism? (Expensive fruit for all?)

I try not to make too many Today Tonight and A Current Affair jokes because I do not watch the shows and I know a lot of people do. Anyway, I was confronted by the first story on Today Tonight while I was too preoccupied with the rabbit and eating to change the channel. (Alright, that is just an excuse, nobody else was home so I also thought nobody would ever know.) Well, it turns out they are outraged because better quality and more expensive fruit and vegetables are found in shops in suburbs where property is more expensive. The funny thing about the story was they looked at where there were highest compared with the lowest quality fresh fruits and vegetables and then they looked at where was the cheapest compared to the most expensive fresh fruit and vegetables. However, they did not include in their story anything about ‘value for money’ of the products (i.e. what is the value to quality ratio). What is more understandable is that they did not include other store factors such as the operators overheads for floor space, staff and car parking or product turn over.

An apple I got on the weekend. Sure it does not look perfect but I am not too concerned.

I know shows like Today Tonight make reference to notions such as ‘battlers’ and ‘honest working Australians’ and ‘the fair go’, so there is nothing particularly pro-capital about such shows, but what do they think the alternative is? If we as consumers are not willing to eat seasonally then what do we expect?

When I first moved out of home I loved the fact that I could get low quality fresh food very cheaply nearby at The Mall. To this day in my shopping I favour the cheaper, funnier shaped, not at all glossy apples when I go shopping because I like to think that they have come off the farm more recently but were not of a high enough quality to justify being waxed, gassed and stored for months.

I agree all people should have access to fresh foods and that quality does matter. What I worry more about are those people living on low incomes in gentrified areas where the only accessible shops sell those expensive fruit and vegetables that look very shinny but are completely unaffordable.

Leave a Reply

