Reflecting on where I would like [my reflection] to go

My past few posts have been rather critical. I am finding critical reflection stimulating, so this is not a bad thing. Still, nobody likes a self-flagellant.

 

At the moment, I am trying to do three things

  1. learn to do social research within an Australian university
  2. learn about how others experience the social world
  3. find out what sharing a suburb is like, in order to take a different look at social policy

While I have a long way to go, I do feel like I am chipping away at each of these personal aims.

 

I am also slowly ticking off tasks. Confirmation is next week, and I have my talk mapped out. I think the next self imposed task will be to have identified some ‘stopping points’ around which to focus my reflection.

There are some concrete issues/ things I can point to

  • redevelopment of a ‘historical’ site
  • residential developments
  • planning of community events

However, being bit of an abstract thinker,I am rather drawn to themes. Two on my mind at the moment are

  • How can people talk about the impact of development? (I think there is something especially interesting here in terms of how people plan for (or debate) cars which is very much about the social world.)
  • How does the work required by a social realm happen? (A lot of it looks like really hard work. There are studies of leisure and of volunteers, but I think there is something more happening here.)

On the other side of confirmation I am really looking forward to giving these thoughts a bit more time and work. I am committed to building the skills needed to translate abstract ideas into something I can communicate. Sure communication is key to succeeding at university, but it is also going to be the way that I can measure the validity of my ideas against the real world. I do not expect everybody to be interested in my project, and I certainly do not expect anybody else to do the work for me. However, in whatever context research is done people deserve to be asked well reasoned questions and to be able to debate the premises that those questions are based on in the first place.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

