Writing as stretching the mind

I went to a yogalates class today. Yes, yogalates. It is a funny name. I am not exactly graceful and so it is even funnier in practice. Sure, I should not need to go to a class to make the time to stretch. However, going to a class seemed to help me fit it into my day and to stretch for longer and in new ways.

Perhaps my approach to writing is a bit similar to that of stretching. When I have not done it for a while, it comes with a lot less movement and a lot more pain. On the other hand, I am not just writing for the sake of writing. I have to get arguments into words and that is proving rather difficult.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

