Making a wooden spoon monster because

My wooden spoon monster

My wooden spoon monster

The other day, I supervised a small child who wanted to make a wooden spoon monster. This seemed like an odd activity request. But why not make a wooden spoon into a monster? Sure, even if it could still be used for smacking, the wooden spoon would not be so useful for the types of cooking I am familiar with, but ‘using’ something often means using it up.

However, his activity request was immediately followed by, ‘because I have a kit for making wooden spoon monsters.’ The production, and procurement, of such a kit took me by surprise. However, if somebody can think of making a wooden spoon monster, I guess somebody else can think of turning it into a product for sale.

Did we follow the instructions? Not really. But I did find myself pointing out to the small child how the instructions suggested we proceed because I was otherwise rather stumped what to do with the contents of the kit. I also interrupted his work to predict that we would run out of glue if he continued using it in the way he was. Why not try to make it last until the end of the activity?

Leave a Reply

